Kansas Sampler

Child Care Doalogue to answer st...

A Child Care Doalogue, organized and facilitated by the Kansas Sampler Foundatio...

Showcase counties for 2020 Big K...

Brown, Doniphan and Nemaha will be the next counties showcased in the Big Ka...

Big Kansas Road Trip to Showcase...

Cheyenne, Sherman and Wallace in Northwest Kansas will be the showcase counties ...

Kansas Explorer Club

Kansas Explorer Club

Members of the Kansas Explorer Club receive 5-6 print newsletters a year full of things to see and do that are off the beaten path.

We Kan!

We Kan!

The Big Rural Brainstorm will be held March 7 in Newton in 2016.

Rural Culture Elements

Rural Culture Elements

The 8 rural culture elements are: architecture, art, commerce, cuisine, customs, geography, history and people! They help you see a place with new eyes.

8 Wonders

8 Wonders

Have you seen the 8 Wonders of Kansas Guidebook? Let it guide you to all 216 Wonders!



Marci and WenDee, of the Kansas Sampler Foundation, are going to every (626) incorporated city in Kansas to research for the second edition of the Kansas Guidebook for Explorers.

Big Kansas Road Trip

Big Kansas Road Trip

The showcase counties are Cheyenne, Sherman and Wallace. The event will be held over four days, May 2-5, 2019.

Kansas Sampler Web Log
email Signup
Kansas Sampler Web Log
Kansas Sampler Web Log
Social Links Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan On Facebook

Map Header
Kansas Sampler Events


General/All News

May 8, 2012 | 2012 We Kan! Awards Presented

The 20th annual We Kan! awards were presented May 5 at the Kansas Sampler Festival to ten people who help preserve and sustain rural culture. The awards are given by the Kansas Sampler Foundation as appreciation for dedicated work to help preserve and sustain rural culture.

The 2013 winners are:

ABBY AMICK, Wabaunsee County Eco. Devo.
Powering Up Agri-women and Kansas

TAMMY BRITT, Cloud County Tourism
Good Thinker & Bright Spirit

Bringing Kansas Together 2012-2013

Preserving the Old West Story

MARIETA HAUSER, Grant County Chamber of Commerce & Tourism
Doing It All for Grant County

Always-there-to-help Guy

LIZ SOSA, Garden City
Leading the Way to PowerUp Kansas

BRENDA STAGGENBORG, Chamber of Commerce, Marysville
Making It Happen in Marysville

Century of Promoting East to West

SARAH WERNER, Chamber of Commerce, Winfield
Valuable PowerUp Voice Across Kansas

The 2012 winners are:

Myrna Barnes, Elkhart, Commitment to County History

Amy Bickel Hutchinson News, Perfectly Penning about Past Kansas Towns

Vicki Gillett, Larned, Longtime Community Promoter

Connie Grafel, Oberlin, Steady Regional Influence

Keystone Gallery, Logan County, Fabulous Fossil Stewards

Connie Kimsey, Arkansas City, Rock Solid Regional Partner

Dick Mosier, Herington, Valuable Volunteer and Explorer

Fred Peterson, Marquette, Determined Community Booster

Julie Roller, Wamego, Awesome Supporter of her Towns

Ruben Schuckman, Hays, Devoted Promoter of Ellis County Towns

Foundation director Marci Penner said, "In their own way, each of these people has made an impact for the good of rural Kansas. It is our privilege to honor them."

The awards plates are made annually by Steve and Jane Fry of Elk Falls Pottery.


See past award winners here.