Blog | 2016 We Kan! Awards announced

2016 We Kan! Awards announced

The 24th annual We Kan! awards were announced May 7, 2016 at the Kansas Sampler Festival in Winfield for ten people. The awards are presented by the Kansas Sampler Foundation as appreciation for dedicated work in helping preserve and sustain rural culture.
Foundation director Marci Penner said, "Each year it is our pleasure to recognize ten people who do a great deal to keep our state moving forward."
Jane Brophy, Cheering for Chanute (Chanute Area Chamber of Commerce and Office of Tourism)

Shari Butler, Passion for the Grassland (Cimarron National Grassland, Elkhart)
Sarah Green, Doing Democracy (Wichita)
Bridgette Jobe, Seeing the Big Picture (Kansas City, KS Convention & Visitors Bureau)
Liz King, Designed Generosity (Liz King Design, Park City, UT)
Ken and Shirley McClintock, Making History Delicious (Trail Days Cafe and Museum, Council Grove)
Larry and Jan Olson, Stumpin' for RV Parks and Campgrounds (Kansas RV Parks & Travel, Hill City)
Sue Stringer, Toutin' Kansas! (KDWPT Kansas Byways & Agritourism, Topeka)
Andrea Springer and Steve Snook, Good Thinkers for Kansas (Hutchinson)
Adam Wagner, You've Been Good for Kansas (Twilight Theatre, Greensburg)

Penner said, "In their own unique way, each of these people has made a difference in rural life and it is our honor to recognize them."

The awards plates are made by Elk Falls Pottery.  To see a list of all We Kan! award winners go to